The southeast province consists of the southern and southeast part of Sulawesi Island and some small Islands surrounding. It is situated in the South of Equator, between 3o and 6o of South Latitude, and between 120o 45' and 124o 06' of East Longitude.

Total peninsula area and the province island are about 38,140 square kilometers, and the sea is about 110,000 square Kilometers, with border area:
North side: South Sulawesi and Central Sulawesi
East side: Banda Sea
South side: Flores Sea
West side: Bone Gulf


The province consist of four regencies, one municipality and an administrative municipality, which area of each region as follows:
Regency of Kendari ..............................16,319 sq. Km. (42,8 %),
Regency of Kolaka ...............................10,310 sq. Km. (27.0 %),
Regency of Buton ................................6,242 sq. Km. (16.4 %),
Regency of Muna .................................4,887 sq. Km. (12.8 %),
Municipality of Kendari .........................161 sq. Km. (0.4 %),
Administrative Municipalities of Bau-Bau ......221 sq. Km. (0.6 %),


Topography of Southeast Sulawesi is dominated by hills. There is some lowland plain between hills, and these are potential for agriculture activity.


The geological condition of the province consists of sediment rocks are about 67.64 %, metamorphoses rocks about 19. 78 % and coagulated rocks is 15.58 %. The general soil type is red yellow podzolic.


Southeast Sulawesi has many rivers, such as; Lalindu, Lasolo, Konaweha, Lahumbuti, Lawe Roraya, Rante Angin, Poleang, Meeta, longkowala, Kambara, kabongka, Towari, Oko-Oko, Sampolawa, etc.

Konaweaha river has stream's flow as about 200 m3 / sec. It has built Wawatobi Dam on this river, which is expected to irrigate the rice-field of up to 18,000 Ha. The Lalindo, Lasolo and Konaweha are very potential rivers for hydroelectric power. To set up the Industrial sector in the near future we need to supplied by PLN (State Electric Company), but in general for household consumers.

There are also some swamplands in this region; such as Aopa swampland with total area about 32,800 Ha and Tinonda Swampland with total about 1,240 Ha. The swampland and the rivers (e.g. Lahumbuti) can be use as water resource for agriculture development, hydroelectric power and as tourism object.

Latest News

Moramo Waterfall, The Fairies Bathing Palace

Moramo Waterfall is located in Tanjung Peropa Nature Reserve Region. Precisely located in the Sumber Sari Village, Moramo Subdistrict, Konawe South Regency, South-East Sulawesi, Indonesia. Moramo Waterfall is an amazing nature gift for Konawe Selatan Regency, South-East Sulawesi, which has seven stages of waterfall where the place of water flowed freely. According to the story that developed in the community, this place was believed as the fairies bathed place that descended from heaven. Moramo Waterfall is the beautiful stratified waterfall (cascade) with height around 100 meters. From this height, the…

Dinggu Traditional Dance – Southeast Sulawesi

Dinggu Traditional Dance Dingu dance is a traditional dance from Southeast Sulawesi, precisely originating coming from Tolaki tribe. According to Tolaki folklore, the rice seed is coming from the decease of seventh angel that coming to Earth. Hence, after the harvest time, they held a thanksgiving celebration to God that celebrated by the local people. In order to gain more rice, Tolaki people are held Modinggu ceremony. Modinggu ceremony is a mass working to plant rice seed in the field that did by the Tolaki’s teenagers at dawn till night.…

Wangiwangi Island

WangiWangi Island Wangiwangi island or Wanci Island, is an island in Southeast Sulawasi that being famous for its beauty and magnificent blue sky and ocean. Wangiwangi island in become Wakatobi islands and also become the administrative area of Wakatobi regency. This island also part of Tukang Besi Island. Tukang besi in Bahasa means hammersmith. This is because of this island is famous for making beautiful keris, an Indonesian traditional weapon until today. This island have a natural pristine, quiet atmosphere and it has fresh sea water. There is also underwater…

Wakatobi Dive Resort

Wakatobi Wakatobi is an acronym of four small islands wihich is Wangi-wangi Kaledupa, Tomia and Binongko. This area is located within the territory of Southeast Sulawesi Province which newly separated from Buton district into one district. Wakatobi National Park has the potential of marine natural resources that having high value and uniqueness, with stunning panoramic underwater. In general, the sea water has a flat configuration from flat landscape until the sloping towards the sea, and some area of the waters have steep bluff. The water depth are varies, the deepest…

Hotel Deals of the Day
Interesting Links
Indonesia Map HD