Tana Toraja or Torajaland or Land of the Toraja or Tator, is regency in South Sulawesi, Indonesia. This is the home of Toraja ethnic group people. The local government seat is in Makale, where the center of Toraja culture is in Rantepao. But now, Tana Toraja has been divided in two regencies that consist of Tana Toraja with capital is Makale and Toraja Utara with capital is Rantepao.

Toraja people are the local inhabitant in Tana Toraja, which are live in the mountain areas and maintain a typical lifestyle and still show the original Austronesian lifestyle and the culture are similar to Nias people. Most of the Toraja people living as farmers. The commodities are vegetables, coffee, cloves, chocolate, and vanilla. This area is one of tourist objects in South Sulawesi. Some of the interesting places in Tana toraja are:

Tongkonan Pallawa is one of tongkonan or a very attractive traditional house and lies among the bamboo trees on the hilltop. Tongkonan is decorated with a buffalo horn which is stuck on the front of traditional houses. It located about 12 km to the north of Rantepau.

Londa is the steep rocks on the side of a typical tomb in Tana Toraja. One is located on high ground from the hill with a deep cave, where the coffin is arranged in accordance with the family line. in the other one is left open overlooking the hillside over the green scenery. It located approximately 5 km to the south of Rantepau. For those who want to visit Tana Toraja, there are two alternatives that you can take, by using ground transportation and air. If you are from out of town you can transit in the city of Makassar in advance, due to the temporary flight path which can be reached by air from big cities in Indonesia, like the Sultan Hasanuddin Airport in Makassar.

To travel by ground transportation we can start from Makassar, South Sulawesi. You can use public transport like buses from Bus Daya' Terminal. The bus is equipped with facilities such as air-conditioning, the rooms are small but the seats are comfortable, very suitable for long-distance travel.


Visit Tana Toraja Tourism

Latest News

Hotel Deals of the Day
Interesting Links
Indonesia Map HD
Find Us on :
Find Us on :