This Indonesian Tourist Spot is A UNESCO World Heritage Site

Indonesian tourist attractions are already famous to foreign countries because of their extraordinary beauty. From nature to culture, Indonesia has its own charm that recognized by the world. So do not be surprised if a number of tourist attractions in Indonesia are recognized by UNESCO as world heritage sites.

Reporting from UNESCO’s official website at, Indonesia has 5 cultural tours and 4 natural attractions that have been recognized by UNESCO. Five recognized cultural tours are Borobudur Temple, Prambanan Temple, Sangiran Early Man Site, Bali Subak Cultural Landscape, and Ombilin Sawahlunto Coal Mine. Meanwhile, the four recognized natural attractions are Komodo National Park, Ujung Kulon National Park, Lorentz National Park, and Sumatra Tropical Rainforest.

In order to get to know more about these nine tourist attractions, the following is a complete overview arranged by the year they were designated as UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

Borobudur temple
Borobudur Temple is one of the first four Indonesian tourist destination designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, in 1991. The largest Buddhist temple in the world, Borobudur Temple was built around the 8th century AD and still stands majestically today. Not only is the temple beautifully engraved, this temple in Magelang, Central Java also offers a charming natural panorama.

Prambanan temple
Together with Borobudur Temple, this Hindu-patterned temple was also inaugurated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1991. Even Prambanan Temple is widely touted as one of the most beautiful temples in the world. The temple, which is located in Sleman, Central Java, consists of several temples with the main temple, Dewa Shiva Temple, standing 47 meters high.

Komodo National Park
Komodo National Park was also designated by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site in 1991. Located in East Nusa Tenggara, this national park is a natural habitat for endemic Komodo dragons.

Ujung Kulon National Park
Moving to the western tip of Java Island, there is Ujung Kulon National Park which was also designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1991. This 122,956 hectare national park is a conservation center for Javan Rhino, Javan gibbon, Surili, and Forest Dogs which are now increasingly rare. There are at least five types of natural landscapes that have their own appeal to explore: mangrove forests, coastal forests, freshwater swamp forests, tropical rain forests, and grasslands.


Related posts