Borneo Island

Borneo (Kalimantan) is the third largest island in the world after Greenland and New Guinea island. The total area of Borneo island is 736 000 KM 2.  The island is wet tropical climate with an average temperature of 24-25 degrees Celsius and passed by line equator.

Borneo was derived from the name of the tree Borneo (Dryobalanops camphora) then by the merchants of Europe called Borneo island or island-producing Borneo, from the Europeans were against the name of Brunei Kingdom, because at that time the kingdom of Brunei is the biggest island so that every stranger who came on this island, will visit the Kingdom of Brunei so that the name of Brunei became an icon for the island then be spoken by the tongue of Europe into Borneo which then continued to be used up to the occupation by the Dutch of "Borneo".

Although known as Borneo, this does not mean that the name Kalimantan is not known. In letters Tamjidillah Prince of the Kingdom of Banjar in 1857 to the Dutch Resident in London he mentioned the island of Kalimantan, not the island of Borneo. It shows that among the population, Kalimantan name better known than the name of Borneo used in the Dutch East Indies colonial. Even “Kalimantan” is the name used by the inhabitants of the eastern part of this island which now includes parts of Indonesia.

Formerly Borneo island in Indonesia only has one province, namely Kalimantan, which was formed on August 14, 1950 by RIS Government Regulation Number 21, 1950. Now the province is divided into 5 parts. 5 provinces are North Kalimantan, Central Kalimantan, East Kalimantan,

Latest News

Hotel Deals of the Day
Interesting Links
Indonesia Map HD